Black Caviar named Victorian Horse of the Year

Black Caviar was crowned Victorian Racehorse of the Year on Sunday night.  Bel Esprit’s champion mare received 150 votes to defeat So You Think (134).

It was the second Horse of the Year award in as many years for trainer Peter Moody after Typhoon Tracy took the title in 2010.

Moody also claimed his first Fred Hoysted Medal in recognition of his efforts during the 2011 Melbourne Festival of Racing with Black Caviar, Typhoon Tracy, Do Ra Mi, Lights Of Heaven and Miss Gai Flyer.

The Scobie Breasley Medal completed a clean-sweep of awards for the Black Caviar team.  It was won for the first time by Luke Nolen (64 votes) from Craig Newitt (45).