Makybe Diva Stakes upgraded to Group 1

The Australian Pattern Committee has announced the VRC Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m) has been upgraded to a Group 1 event.

“The Makybe Diva Stakes plays an important role in the Melbourne spring carnival and exceeds all the required criteria for upgrade,” APC Chairman Alan Brown commented.  “It ‘s the only remaining Australian G2 race eligible at present for promotion to Group 1 and we are delighted that the Asian Pattern Committee has agreed with our submission”

Formally known as the Craiglee Stakes since its inception in 1948, the race received a name change in 2007 to honour the three-time Melbourne Cup winner.

The Group 1 Makybe Diva Stakes will be run at Flemington on September 7.  Previous winners of the race include Shocking (2010), Weekend Hussler (2008), Northerly (2002), Jeune (1995), Zabeel (1990) and Dulcify (1979).