Zabeel edges closer to Sir Tristram

Queensland Oaks winner Gondokoro (NZ) became the 43rd individual Group 1 winner for Zabeel on Saturday – a figure only bettered in Australasia by his own sire Sir Tristram (Sir Ivor) who had 45.

Trainer Pat Carey said Gondokoro pulled up so well after her Oaks triumph, he was giving serious thought to backing her up in the G1 Queensland Derby (2400m) at Eagle Farm next Saturday.

“On face value she pulled up in terrific order straight after the race it puts the Derby right there as an option next week,” Carey said.  “I wanted to get past the Oaks first before I thought about anything else for her but she’s been nominated and paid up all the way through for the Derby.”

Carey has stopped short of declaring the filly a certain cups contender in the spring.  “There is no guarantee of a spring preparation when all those imported horses come into Melbourne,” he said.  “The obvious race for us is the BMW in the autumn.”

Zabeel is rising 27 and will serve a select band of mares at Cambridge Stud in the spring.  His Group 1 winners include;

ABLE MASTER   1995 Auckland Cup

BAZELLE   2005 Auckland Cup, 2005 Zabeel Classic

BEZEAL BAY   1998 VRC Emirates Stakes

CHAMPAGNE   1998 STC Ansett Australia Stakes & 1998 VRC Mackinnon Stakes

CRONUS   1997 SAJC Adelaide Cup

DIGNITY DANCER   1998 AJC Spring Champion Stakes & 1999 VRC Australian Guineas

DIZELLE   2005 AJC Australian Oaks

DON EDUARDO   2002 AJC Australian Derby

DRESS CIRCLE   2001 AJC Metropolitan Handicap

EFFICIENT   2006 VRC Victoria Derby, 2007 VRC Melbourne Cup &  2009 VRC Turnbull Stakes

FIUMICINO   2007 AJC Australian Derby & 2009 STC BMW

GALLIC   2007 AJC Sydney Cup

GRAND ECHEZEAUX   2000 SAJC Australasian Oaks

GREENE STREET 2001  Avondale Gold Cup & 2003 Waikato International

GREYS INN   2004  South African Derby & 2004 Durban July

HADES  1999  New Zealand Derby

HILL OF GRACE  2000 STC Ansett Australia Stakes

INAFLURY  1998 VATC One Thousand Guineas

JESSICABEEL  2010 AJC Sydney Cup

JEZABEEL  1998  Auckland Cup & 1998 VRC Melbourne Cup

LAD OF THE MANOR  2005 VRC Mackinnon Stakes

LIGHTS OF HEAVEN  2011 SAJC Schweppes Oaks

MALDIVIAN  2007 MRC Yalumba Stakes, 2008 MVRC Cox Plate & 2009 MRC Orr Stakes

MIGHT AND POWER   1997 VATC Caulfield Cup, 1997 VRC Melbourne Cup, 1998 STC Mercedes Classic, 1998 AJC Queen Elizabeth Stakes, 1998 BTC Doomben Cup, 1998 VATC Yalumba Stakes & 1998 MVRC Cox Plate

MOUAWAD  1997 VATC Futurity Stakes, 1997 VRC Australian Guineas & 1997 STC George Ryder Stakes

OCTAGONAL  1995 AJC Sires’ Produce Stakes, 1995 MVRC Cox Plate, 1996 STC Canterbury Guineas, 1996 STC Rosehill Guineas, 1996 STC Mercedes Classic, 1996 AJC Australian Derby, 1996 VATC Underwood Stakes, 1997 VRC Australian Cup, 1997 STC Mercedes Classic & 1997 AJC Chipping Norton Stakes

OUR UNICORN   2001  Auckland Cup

RAILINGS   2005 AJC Metropolitan & 2005 MRC Caulfield Cup

RESET   2004 MRC Futurity Stakes & 2004 VRC Australian Guineas

SAVABEEL   2004 AJC Spring Champion Stakes & 2004 MVRC Cox Plate

SHOWER OF ROSES   2003 STC Arrowfield Stud Stakes

SKY HEIGHTS   1999 STC Rosehill Guineas, 1999 AJC Australian Derby, 1999 VATC Caulfield Cup & 2000 VATC Yalumba Stakes

ST REIMS   2002  New Zealand Derby & 2005  Zabeel Classic

UNEARTHLY   2003 AJC Flight Stakes

VENGEANCE OF RAIN  2005 HK Queen Elizabeth II Cup, 2005 Hong Kong Derby, 2005 Hong Kong Cup & 2007 UAE Sheema Classic

VOUVRAY   2004 QTC Queensland Oaks

ZABEELIONAIRE   2012 SAJC South Australian Derby

ZABRASIVE   2010 STC Rosehill Guineas

ZACHELINE  1998 SAJC South Australian Oaks & 1998 QTC Queensland Oaks

ZAGALIA   2003 QTC Queensland Oaks

ZAVITE   2009 SAJC Adelaide Cup, 2010 ARC Auckland Cup, 2011 ATC Ranvet Stakes

ZONDA  1997 New Zealand Derby & 2001 ARC Oaks Stud Classic