More Joyous NSWROA Horse of the Year

More Joyous (NZ) was named NSW Champion Horse of the Year at the 2010-11 NSW Racehorse Owners Association awards on Thursday night.

More Joyous (More Than Ready) is trained by Gai Waterhouse and is a homebred for John Singleton.  She won 8 races from 10 starts last season headed by G1 victories in the Toorak Hcp & Futurity Stakes at Caulfield, George Main Stakes at Randwick and Queen of the Turf Stakes at Rosehill.

Her only two defeats were in the Cox Plate and Doncaster Mile.  Singleton’s racing manager Duncan Grimley accepted the award on behalf of the Strawberry Hills Stud owner.

The (NZ) brand received another award when Kiwi bred globetrotter So You Think was named NSW Middle Distance Horse of the Year.   So You Think (High Chaparral) was trained by Bart Cummings for G1 wins in the Underwood Stakes, Yalumba Stakes, Cox Plate and Mackinnon Stakes.

NSW 2YO – Sepoy (Elusive Quality)
NSW 3YO – Retrieve (Rahy)
NSW SPRINTER-MILER – More Joyous (More Than Ready)
NSW MIDDLE DISTANCE – So You Think (High Chaparral)
NSW STAYER – Stand To Gain (Hawk Wing)
QUEEN OF THE AUTUMN     – More Joyous (More Than Ready)
NSW COUNTRY CHAMPION – Voice Commander (Commands)
NSW PROVINCIAL CHAMPION – Hay List (Statue of Liberty)

The Bart Cummings Medal was taken out by Chris Waller.  He also picked up the T J Smith Award for the Sydney Premiership Trainer.

Other awards to be presented included the George Moore Award (Nash Rawiller), the Theo Green Award (Josh Adams) and the Sydney Strapper of the Year (Michael Doolan).