NZ sires top Group 1 leader-board

New Zealand provided four of the top six stallions for individual Group 1 winners on both sides of the Tasman in 2009-10.

Cambridge Stud champion Zabeel topped the bill with four individual G1 winners.  Sharing the second line with three individual Group 1 winners were Fastnet Rock (Coolmore Stud), High Chaparral (Windsor Park), Montjeu (Windsor Park), Redoute’s Choice (Arrowfield Stud) and Volksraad (Windsor Park Stud).

Windsor Park will be delighted with that news and the fact they are front-runners for NZ Breeder of the Year honours.  The Cambridge-based property has bred 13 individual black type winners this season including the Derby winners Monaco Consul (High Chaparral) and Military Move (Volksraad).

Zabeel 4 Group 1 winners were:   Efficient (VRC Turnbull Stakes), Jessicabeel (AJC Sydney Cup), Zabrasive (STC Rosehill Guineas) and Zavite (ARC Auckland Cup).

The following sired 3 Group 1 winners: Fastnet Rock (Irish Lights, Rock Classic, Wanted),   High Chaparral (Monaco Consul, Shoot Out, So You Think),   Montjeu (Speed Gifted, Tavistock, Wall Street),   Redoute’s Choice (Allez Wonder, Dariana, Melito),   Volksraad (Military Move, Veloce Bella, Velocitea).